TheRugby Championship
SANZAR unveil Rugby Championship trophy
ESPN Staff
August 9, 2012
The Rugby Championship trophy is unveiled, Sydney, Australia, August 9, 2012
Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa will by vying for a new piece of silverware in this year's inaugural staging of the Rugby Championship © SANZAR
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Rugby Championship

SANZAR has revealed the trophy that will be awarded to the winner of this year's Rugby Championship.

The competition, featuring Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, kicks off on August 18 and replaces the Tri-Nations as the premier annual international event in the southern hemisphere. Each team will play the other three at home and away with the team at the top of the table at the end of the competition set to lift the new silverware.

"The new trophy embodies all the elements of The Rugby Championship," said SANZAR CEO Greg Peters. "A competition of the best versus the best in world rugby, with the four teams competing ranked one, two, three and eight in the world. Over the years the competition and trophy will develop its own heritage and legacy and we look forward to that evolving."

The stainless-steel trophy was designed by Sydney-based consultancy Blue Sky, and reflects The Rugby Championship logo by incorporating the 'H's' as the goal posts to support the bowl. The gold panels on the bowl signify the status of the trophy and will recognise the winner of the championship.

The trophy stands 56cm tall, and weighs approximately 5kg. It was made using the latest materials and state-of-the-art design processes, before being completed with a polish to bring the new trophy up with a mirror finish.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.