New Zealand v South Africa, Tri-Nations, September 12
Henry calls on Carter and Donald
September 9, 2009

All Blacks coach Graham Henry has resisted the urge to shift star playmaker Dan Carter in to the centre - instead naming Waikato fly-half Stephen Donald in the No.12 jersey for Saturday's vital Tri-Nations meeting with South Africa in Hamilton.

Donald will make his first start in the centre at any level for six years alongside Ma'a Nonu, who shifts to outside-centre, after injuries ruled Luke McAlister and Conrad Smith out of contention.

There are no further changes to the starting XV after the All Blacks retained the Bledisloe Cup in Sydney last time out and Kieran Read has been cleared to start at No.8 despite struggling recently with a knee complaint.

South Africa have made just one change to their starting line. Francois Steyn is recalled to the side at fullback in the place of Ruan Pienaar with coach Peter de Villiers resisting the urge to make wholesale changes following the Springboks' 21-6 humbling at the hands of Australia last weekend.

Bryan Habana, who has been under an injury cloud with a hamstring strain, has been named on the wing, while No.8 Pierre Spies is nursing a groin problem. Despite the obvious issues with the scrum in Brisbane, the coach has opted to stick with his front row so captain John Smit remains at tight-head prop.

New Zealand: Mils Muliaina; Joe Rokocoko, Ma'a Nonu, Stephen Donald, Sitiveni Sivivatu; Dan Carter, Jimmy Cowan; Tony Woodcock, Andrew Hore, Owen Franks, Brad Thorn, Isaac Ross, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw (capt), Kieran Read

Replacements: Aled de Malmanche, John Afoa, Adam Thomson, Rodney So'oialo, Brendon Leonard, Isaia Toeava, Cory Jane

South Africa: Francois Steyn; Odwa Ndungane, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana; Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez; Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, John Smith, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Heinrich Brussow, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies

Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Jannie du Plessis, Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Enrico Januarie, Adrian Jacobs, Ruan Pienaar

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Television Match Official: George Ayoub (Australia)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.