Reds dominate Wallabies squad
ESPNscrum Staff
July 10, 2011
The Reds' Radike Samo is all smiles in training, Reds training session, Ballymore, Brisbane, Austraila, July 4, 2011
Samo has been re-called to the Wallabies squad after a seven-year absence © Getty Images

Australia have named their 40-man squad for the summer internationals and have included 15 Reds players in their ranks.

The Reds capped a remarkable season with an 18-13 win over the Crusaders on Saturday and they have been suitably rewarded in Robbie Deans' side. Radike Samo, 35, has been recalled to the Wallabies after a seven-year absence. He is joined in the party by fellow Reds and Wallabies newcomers flanker Beau Robinson and hooker James Hanson. The other new cap in the 40-man squad is Waratahs lock Sitaleki Timani.

Deans reserved special praise for Samo saying "Samo's performances speak for themselves. Seven years after he first played Test matches, he has got into good shape physically and has shown that he still has an appetite for rugby at this level." Samo is joined in the squad by fellow veterans Mark Gerrard and Dan Vickerman but there is no place for Waratahs flanker Phil Waugh, who will retire after the World Cup, or Melbourne Rebels centre Stirling Mortlock.

Hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau, No.8 Wycliff Palu, prop James Slipper and scrum-half Luke Burgess are all included despite injury but Berrick Barnes and Drew Mitchell have been left out as they battle to be fit in time for the World Cup.

Deans will trim his squad by 10 for the World Cup on August 18 and is not ruling anyone in or out of it at this stage. "In terms of the players who are currently on the sidelines, we won't be rushing any of them," Deans said. "But we need to get them all started, in terms of being exposed to all of the detail, as part of our preparation. That's one of the reasons why we have opted for an enlarged squad at this point."

Australia face Samoa on Sunday July 17 at ANZ Stadium, before kicking off the Tri-Nations against South Africa at Sydney on July 23.

Wallabies squad:


Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Ben Daley (Reds), Dave Dennis (Waratahs), Rocky Elsom (capt) (Brumbies), Saia Faingaa (Reds), James Hanson (Reds), Scott Higginbotham (Reds), Matt Hodgson (Western Force), James Horwill (Reds), Sekope Kepu (Waratahs), Salesi Ma'afu (Brumbies), Ben McCalman (Western Force), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Dean Mumm (Waratahs), Wycliff Palu (Waratahs), David Pocock (Western Force), Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs), Beau Robinson (Reds), Benn Robinson (Waratahs), Radike Samo (Reds), Nathan Sharpe (Western Force), Rob Simmons (Reds), James Slipper (Reds), Sitaleki Timani (Waratahs), Dan Vickerman (Waratahs)


Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Luke Burgess (Waratahs), Quade Cooper (Reds), Rod Davies (Reds), Anthony Faingaa (Reds), Will Genia (Reds), Mark Gerrard (Melbourne Rebels), Matt Giteau (Toulon), Digby Ioane (Reds), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Luke Morahan (Reds), James O'Connor (Melbourne Rebels), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Lachie Turner (Waratahs)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open