Also or formerly known as The House of Pain
Home team(s) Highlanders, Otago
Other sports Cricket, Football
Time 23:20, Thu May 05, 2016 (UTC +1200)
A notoriously difficult place for visiting teams to win, The House of Pain lived up to its nickname before closing in June 2010.
The Springboks were without a win at Dunedin's ground until their historic 2008 Tri-Nations triumph and it was rare that the All Blacks lost a Test at the southern venue. Carisbrook, with a capacity of 29,000, was known for its unique atmosphere generated by Dunedin's student population who flocked to the terraces for rugby and cricket matches and was one of the last stadiums in New Zealand to still have a terraced area.
Carisbrook was also a multi-purpose stadium, holding cricket, rugby and recently football matches. The ground was named after the estate of early colonial settler James Macandrew. It was developed during the 1870s and opened in 1883 with the first international cricket match between Otago and Australia held on November 22, 1886. It had been hosting Tests since 1908 and full cricket internationals since 1955.
In June 2010 the All Blacks brought the curtain down on Test rugby at Carisbrook by thumping Wales 42-9, with former All Black Jeff Wilson digging up a square of the turf at the final whistle before a firework display and rendition of Auld Lang Syne.