Wales v Tonga
Wales hand Hallan Amos debut in one of 11 changes
ESPN Staff
November 19, 2013
Hallam Amos will make his Wales debut on Friday © Getty Images

Wales coach Warren Gatland had made 11 changes ahead of Friday's game against Tonga with Hallam Amos making his debut in a side captained by Ryan Jones.

Amos has impressed for the Dragons this term and starts in the back three alongside George North and Leigh Halfpenny. With Cory Allen suffering a dislocated shoulder and both Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies long-term casualties, Gatland has re-jigged his midfield with Ashley Beck getting the nod alongside Cardiff Blues' Owen Williams in the centres.

James Hook is handed the fly-half shirt and partners Lloyd Williams at No.9.

And in the pack, Gatland has made six changes with Paul James and Ken Owens partnering Scarlets' Rhodri Jones. In the second-row Luke Charteris is named alongside Ian Evans with Justin Tipuric, Andrew Coombs and Ryan Jones packing down in the back-row.

There could be further debuts on the bench as uncapped duo Jordan Williams and Rhodri Williams are named alongside Emyr Phillips, Ryan Bevington, Samson Lee, Dan Lydiate, Sam Warburton and Rhys Priestland.

"Tonga are a typical south sea island side and will be physical, powerful and won't take a backwards step," Gatland said. "We pride ourselves on matching other side's physicality and we will have to do that on Friday.

"It should be a great encounter with both sides looking to move the ball around. We have made a number of changes but it's a great opportunity for these guys to show us exactly how they cope with the international game.

"The whole squad has trained well since the start of the campaign and they deserve their chance."


Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Owen Williams (Cardiff Blues), Ashley Beck (Ospreys), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), James Hook (Perpignan), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Bath), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Andrew Coombs (Dragons), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Ryan Jones (Ospreys - captain)

Replacements: Emyr Phillips (Scarlets), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Jordan Williams (Scarlets).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.