Matthew Morgan earns Wales call-up
ESPN Staff
May 30, 2014
Matthew Morgan will travel to South Africa with Wales © PA Photos

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named four uncapped players in the 32-man squad ahead of their two-Test tour to South Africa.

The squad announcement came in the wake of the Welsh trial match where the Probables triumphed over the Possibles winning 55-7. Of the four fresh faces, Matthew Morgan's performance for the Possibles would have helped earn him a spot in the squad after he impressed in the second-half.

He will go to South Africa hoping to make his Test debut with Gareth Davies, Steve Shingler and Jordan Williams also in the same boat.

With Sam Warburton and Justin Tipuric both ruled out of the tour through injury, Gatland has opted against taking a specialist openside and he has also overlooked Gavin Henson after he was named in the original squad for Friday's trial match.

Aviva Premiership rules prevented him taking part but Northampton's George North and Bath's Paul James have got the nod. They are joined by five France-based players with Jamie Roberts, James Hook, Mike Phillips, Dan Lydiate and Luke Charteris all earning call-ups.

Alun Wyn Jones will captain the squad and they start the tour against the Eastern Province Kings on June 10 before then playing South Africa on June 14 and 21.

Wales squad:

Forwards: Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Bath), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Matthew Rees (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Capt) (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dan Baker (Ospreys)

Backs: Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), James Hook (Perpignan), Steven Shingler (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Jordan Williams (Scarlets), Matthew Morgan (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.