• Tour de France Stage 11, Blaye-les-Mines - Lavaur

Cavendish claims third stage win to snatch green jersey

ESPN staff
July 13, 2011
Mark Cavendish has won three stages on this year's Tour de France © Getty Images

Mark Cavendish seized control of the green jersey after outsprinting rival Andre Greipel to claim his third stage victory of this year's Tour de France.

Cavendish had been pipped to victory by his former team-mate Greipel on Tuesday, but the HTC-Highroad rider had his revenge as he pulled off a reverse on Stage 11 to leap to the top of the sprinters' standings.

As on the previous stage, an early breakaway group was reeled back in by the peloton on the approach into Lavaur. Final survivor Lars Boom gave up his fight with a little more than a kilometre to go, setting up a mass sprint finish.

As Cavendish was released by his team, Greipel was in hot pursuit, looking to secure back-to-back wins, but the Manxman was too strong as he clinched his 18th career win on the Tour.

"I said last night that I would win tomorrow," Cavendish said. "When the guys ride like they did yesterday and I can't do my job it's hard so I made sure I got the win today. Yesterday, Greipel was perfect but today I made sure I didn't make the same mistake."

Frenchman Thomas Voeckler holds onto the yellow jersey with a cushion of one minute and 49 seconds over Luis Leon Sanchez.

Tour de France Stage Stage 11, Blaye-les-Mines - Lavaur:
1. Mark Cavendish (GB) HTC-Highroad 3:46:07
2. Andre Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto- same time
3. Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo - same time
4. Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team- same time
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky - same time
6. Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD - same time
7. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team - same time
8. Sebastien Turgot (Fra) Team Europcar- same time
9. Francisco Jose Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team - same time
10. William Bonnet (Fra) FDJ - same time

General classification after Stage 11:
1. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar - 45:52:39
2. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Rabobank - at one minute 49 seconds
3. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team - at two minutes 26 seconds
4. Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek - at two minutes 29 seconds
5. Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek - at two minutes 37 seconds
6. Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad - at two minutes 38 seconds
7. Peter Velits (Svk) HTC-Highroad - at two minutes 38 seconds
8. Andreas Klöden (Ger) Team RadioShack - at two minutes 43 seconds
9. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto - at two minutes 55 seconds
10. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard Trek - at three minutes eight seconds
16. Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo-Bank Sungard - at four minutes seven seconds

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.