• Criterium du Dauphine, Stage Seven

Bradley Wiggins takes Criterium du Dauphine triumph

ESPN staff
June 10, 2012

Bradley Wiggins claimed his second consecutive victory at the Criterium du Dauphine on Sunday after negotiating a safe ride on the final stage.

Wiggins, who led by one minute 20 seconds heading into the 126km leg, opted for a sensible ride as he took no chances from Morzine to Chatel. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) took the stage win, but the glory belonged to the Brit.

Wiggins has now won three of the year's major races heading into the Tour de France, which commences towards the end of the month. The three-time Olympic gold medallist could barely have wished for better preparation ahead of the summer.

His victory capped a superb week for Team Sky, with Wiggins' colleague Michael Rogers second in the General Classification and Chris Froome fourth.

Cadel Evans, who had to accept third in the overall standings, made an attempt to force a better result on the final day but eventually crossed the line third. Wiggins then arrived in 19th just 10 seconds back, triumphing by an overall margin of one minute 17 seconds from Rogers.

"I'm not the favourite for the Tour de France but I'm one of the favourites for sure," Wiggins said. "We've seen this week that I'm not the only one. Cadel Evans is also going very well.

"What we can say is that Team Sky has been up there every day and we're also on second and fourth place overall. This is a major victory for us. People talk a lot about the Tour de France, but to win Paris-Nice and the Dauphine the same year is massive. So, whatever happens at the Tour, I can already be satisfied with that.

"Now that the Dauphine is finished I can turn my focus to the Tour. I'll take some rest and try to avoid as many people as I can. My preparation has been fantastic. In terms of hard work, as much as could be done has been done."

Stage Seven result

1. Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team 2:59:37
2. Luis-Leon Sanchez (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team
3. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team
4. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
5. Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
6. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica GreenEdge
7. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team
8. Dries Devenyns (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
9. Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky
10. Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Sky at 7 seconds

General classification

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky 26:40:46
2. Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Sky at 1:17
3. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team at 1:26
4. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky at 1:45
5. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team at 2:12
6. Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) Movistar Team at 2:58
7. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana Pro Team at 3:07
8. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team at 3:26
9. Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky at 3:34
10. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Radioshack-Nissan at 3:50

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.