• US news

Four women in field for Indianapolis 500

ESPNF1 Staff
May 1, 2010 « 'After Monaco we'll know how Schumacher's form really is' - Webber | »

The Indianapolis 500 field has been announced and it includes four former champions as well as four women.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway says 40 entries have been filed for the May 30 race. It's the second consecutive year with that many entries, the most since 2002.

Defending champion Helio Castroneves is joined by former winners Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti and Dan Wheldon. Four women could start for the first time. The entries include Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Sarah Fisher and Simona De Silvestro.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
ESPN Staff Close