Sauber confirmed as 13th team for 2010

ESPNF1 Staff
December 3, 2009 « Tag Heuer extend sponsorship with McLaren | »
Peter Sauber will lead the team into 2010 © Sutton Images

The FIA have confirmed Sauber will be the 13th entry for the 2010 Formula One season, replacing the outgoing Toyota team.

Since BMW pulled out of the sport in July the future of the team has been in doubt. The manufacturer did not sign up to the Concorde Agreement, which binds the teams and Formula One together, knowing they could not guarantee they would be racing in 2010.

After a team takeover bid by investment group Qadbak failed, BMW decided to sell the team back to Peter Sauber, who set up the original team 1993. This deal was on the condition that the FIA grant the team a place on the grid, a decision that has been confirmed today.

"The FIA has written to inform BMW Sauber AG that their application for an entry in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship has been successful," read the FIA statement. "Subject to their signing the Concorde Agreement, BMW Sauber will be awarded the 13th entry in the Championship, taking the place of the departing Toyota team.

"The FIA has worked closely with the Commercial Rights Holder and the teams involved over recent weeks and is grateful for their support in achieving the best outcome for the sport. An updated Formula One entry list will be published in due course."