• Euro 2012

Rooney given No. 10 shirt for Euro 2012

ESPN staff
May 29, 2012

Roy Hodgson has named Danny Welbeck in his 23-man squad for Euro 2012, with Wayne Rooney being handed the No. 10 shirt for the tournament.

Welbeck and Liverpool defender Glen Johnson, both injury doubts after missing last Saturday's 1-0 friendly victory over Norway in Oslo, have been passed fit to travel to Poland and Ukraine.

Two other changes to Hodgson's original 23-man squad see Everton defender Phil Jagielka replace the injured Gareth Barry, while Birmingham City keeper Jack Butland has been drafted in for John Ruddy, who broke a finger in training last week. Butland is yet to make a senior appearance for the Blues but impressed during a loan spell at League Two side Cheltenham last season.

Rooney, who will miss England's opening two group games due to suspension, will wear his favoured No. 10 shirt, while Hodgson has hinted he will start with Andy Carroll after assigning the Liverpool striker with the No. 9 jersey.

Hodgson's troops play Belgium at Wembley on Saturday before getting their Euro 2012 campaign up and running against France on June 11 in Donetsk. Sweden lie in wait on June 15, with England concluding their Group D programme against co-hosts Ukraine on June 19.

The 23-man squad
Goalkeepers: 1. Joe Hart, 13. Robert Green, 23. Jack Butland
Defenders: 2. Glen Johnson, 3. Ashley Cole, 5. Gary Cahill, 6. John Terry, 12. Leighton Baines, 14, Phil Jones, 15. Joleon Lescott. 18 Phil Jagielka
Midfielders: 4. Steven Gerrard, 7. Theo Walcott, 8. Frank Lampard, 11. Ashley Young, 16. James Milner, 17. Scott Parker, 19. Stewart Downing, 20. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
Strikers: 9. Andy Carroll, 10. Wayne Rooney, 21. Jermain Defoe, 22. Danny Welbeck

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.