• Rugby League

Super League to be reduced to 12 teams

ESPN staff
January 17, 2014
Wigan Warriors have won two of the previous four Super League Grand Finals © Getty Images

The Super League will be reduced from 14 to 12 teams in 2015 as part of an overhaul of the domestic league system.

After the coming 2014 season the changes will come into effect, with a 12-team Super League and Championship being put into place which will then split into three groups of eight after the 23 regular rounds.

Play-offs within each of these groups of eight will then take place to determine the Super League champions and who moves between the between the two leagues.

Promotion and relegation from the Super League was scrapped after the 2008 season, and the new changes will give smaller outfits a chance of competing in the top flight.

The changes are set to be ratified at an RFL board meeting next week, after being agreed upon by the existing Super League clubs.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close