Steyn recalled to Springboks squad
August 8, 2010
South Africa coach Peter de Villiers watches on, New Zealand v South Africa, Tri-Nations, Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand, July 17, 2010
Springboks coach Peter de Villiers is under pressure to inspire a return to winning ways © Getty Images

Racing Metro utility back Frans Steyn is one of five players recalled to the South Africa training squad ahead of the home leg of this year's Tri-Nations.

The 23-year-old Rugby World Cup winner joins Cheetahs flankers Juan Smith and Heinrich Brüssow, Sharks wing JP Pietersen and Sharks hooker Bismarck du Plessis in a training squad of 29 players that will attend a four-day camp in Johannesburg next week in preparation for the side's last three Tri-Nations clashes against New Zealand in Johannesburg (August 21) and Australia in Pretoria and Bloemfontein (August 28 and September 4).

However, Steyn, who last played against Wales in June, was injured in a pre-season game on Friday and will undergo a scan in Paris on Tuesday to determine the extent of the injury. Du Plessis returned to action with Natal Sharks this past weekend while Smith has also battled back from injury and has featured for the Cheetahs in this year's Currie Cup. Brussow is included despite having been out of action since February after undergoing surgery for a knee injury.

The group also includes the bulk of the squad that suffered back-to-back defeats to the All Blacks and another against the Wallabies last month with only lock Andries Bekker and scrum-half Ruan Pienaar unavailable due to injury. Centre Jaque Fourie is serving a suspension and cannot be considered for selection for the Johannesburg Test on 21 August.

The final squad of 24 for the three Tests will be confirmed on Friday, August 13 with the match 22 for the clash against the All Blacks at the National Stadium (formerly Soccer City) will be announced on Tuesday, August 17.

The provisional squad is:


BJ Botha (Ulster), Schalk Burger (Vodacom Stormers), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), Francois Louw (Vodacom Stormers), Victor Matfield (Vodacom Bulls), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Dewald Potgieter (Vodacom Bulls), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Vodacom Bulls), Danie Rossouw (Vodacom Bulls), John Smit (Sharks, Captain), Juan Smith (Vodaocm Cheetahs), Pierre Spies (Vodacom Bulls), Gurthro Steènkámp (Vodacom Bulls), CJ van der Linde (Vodacom Cheetahs), Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls)


Gio Aplon (Vodacom Stormers), Juan de Jongh (Vodacom Stormers), Jean de Villiers (Vodacom Stormers), Jaque Fourie (Vodacom Stormers), Bryan Habana (Vodacom Stormers), Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Bulls), Ricky Januarie (Vodacom Stormers), Butch James (Bath), Zane Kirchner (Vodacom Bulls), Wynand Olivier (Vodacom Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Racing Metro), Morne Steyn (Vodacom Bulls)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - German GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open