Chinese Grand Prix Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai April 12-14, 2013

Total laps 56
Lap distance 5.451 km
Track Conditions Dry / 27C

ESPNF1 home   Race home

Scattered cloud

Free practice 1  April 12 - 10:00 local | 02:00 GMT | 03:00 BST
Free practice 2  April 12 - 14:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST
Free practice 3  April 13 - 11:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 04:00 BST

Qualifying  April 13 - 14:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST
Race  April 14 - 15:00 local | 07:00 GMT | 08:00 BST

Refreshes every 30 seconds | Send your feedback to the commentators

Thank you for joining us for the race today, we were certainly treated to some fantastic entertainment.

Vettel, Webber, Raikkonen, Bottas, Ricciardo and Chilton will all be investigated for using DRS under yellow flags. So keep checking the site for the results of that and the reaction from the teams and drivers.

Lap 56

That was a thrilling end to the race. Alonso had it comfortably sewn up, but Vettel was on a mission on the softs and came within 0.2s of Hamilton at the line.

Button held on for fifth, a great result for him after a difficult weekend, Massa sixth, Ricciardo seventh, another very strong performance, di Resta eighth, Grosjean ninth and Hulkenberg tenth.

Perez ends up outside the points in 11th. Vergne 12th.

Ross Brawn tells Lewis it was good drive: "We're not quite there yet, but we're getting close."

Lotus apologises to Raikkonen for the slow start that cost him crucial track position early on.

Alonso starts the final lap.

Hamilton only has 2,0s over Vettel now. Hamilton is struggling in traffic. Vettel should get a run at him.

Vettel goes deep into turn 12 and they go onto the back straight.

Alonso wins, Raikkonen second and Hamilton just holds on for third ahead of Vettel.

Vettel has DRS but can't get past in turn 14

Lap 55

Vettel is still pushing hard and has the gap down to 5.2s. He might get close to Hamilton but those softs will lose their edge soon.

Alonso, meanwhile, is 10.2s clear at the front.

Vettel is still shifting and taking about a second per sector out of Hamilton.

Di Resta came out in eighth so that strategy worked quite well for Force India.

Lap 54

Hamilton is now 0.8s off Raikkonen. He's going to go for one last push by the looks of it.

Vettel sets the fastest lap of the race but is still 8.2s off Hamilton.

Di Resta pits.

Lap 53

Di Resta still needs to pit in fifth and will come out around tenth by my calculation.

At the moment Button is just about holding a 2.6s gap to Massa. But his tyres are already starting to go off.

Lap 52

Alonso has a 12.0s gap to Raikkonen. Vettel is told to race to the finish but to look after his tyres.

Hamilton is now within a second of Raikkonen, but doesn't appear to be able to get much closer.

Full commentary: Race Qualifying Free practice 3 Free practice 2 Free practice 1