• Criterium du Dauphine, Stage Three

Boasson Hagen wins bunch sprint; Wiggo keeps yellow

ESPN staff
June 6, 2012

Edvald Boasson Hagen showed a real turn of pace to come through a bunch sprint and take the third stage of the Criterium du Dauphine, with Bradley Wiggins keeping hold of the yellow jersey for a third straight day.

The Norwegian picked his moment superbly to make a dart for the line, bursting free of the chaos to win the 167-km route from Givors to La Clayette from Gerald Ciolek (Omega Pharma-QuickStep), with Borut Bozic (Astana) in third.

It proved a great day for Team Sky, with Boasson Hagen's team-mate and defending champion Wiggins being perfectly protected into the closing stages to ensure he stayed ahead of Tour de France winner Cadel Evans in the General Classification.

Boasson Hagen said: "It was a nice day for the team as we had the yellow jersey but we didn't really have to work. The team did a good job to keep Bradley up the front and I could just sit behind.

"I'm here mainly to help him to win the race but I got the chance today to try to sprint. [John] Degenkolb [Argos-Shimano] had a flat tyre so there was one less to sprint against and I was able to win which I'm really happy about. We have a really strong team here with Bradley in the lead and we'll cross our fingers that we can keep the yellow jersey the whole week."

Wiggins retains the yellow jersey heading into Thursday's crucial 53.5km time trial from Villie-Morgon to Bourg-en-Bresse.

Stage Three result
1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling - 4:22:13
2 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
3 Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team
4 Roger Kluge (Ger) Argos-Shimano
5 Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) Garmin - Barracuda
6 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack-Nissan
7 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre - ISD
8 Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team
9 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo Bank

General Classification
1 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling - 13:07:55
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team - 0:00:01
3 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team - 0:00:02
4 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team
5 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quickstep - 0:00:04
6 Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team
7 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quickstep - 0:00:05
8 Jérôme Coppel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun - 0:00:06
9 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team
10 Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling - 0:00:07

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.