• 2014 season

21 races but no New Jersey on provisional calendar

ESPN Staff
September 5, 2013 « McLaren not in permanent decline - Button | Hulkenberg has 'options' for 2014 »
Mexico City is set to return to the calendar next year © Sutton Images

Formula One is set for a 21-race season next year but it will not feature New Jersey, according to a provisional calendar released in Monza.

The return of the Mexican and Austrian grands prix plus the inaugural Russian Grand Prix will add three new races for 2014, while the Indian Grand Prix drops off the schedule next year. The Grand Prix of America in New Jersey was hoping to be on the calendar this year, but problems with funding and preparations saw it postponed to 2014 and now the project appears to be on the ropes after failing to make the grade once more. The calendar needs to be ratified by the World Motor Sport Council and the Korean, Russian and Mexican grands prix are all subject to either contract negotiations or track completion.

Once again, the season will kick off in Australia and Malaysia before a trip to the Far East where China has been doubled up with Korea. Bahrain stands alone with two-week breaks either side before the teams arrive in Barcelona (Valencia will not return to the calendar) for the start of the European season.

Austria has now been given a late-June date two weeks before the British Grand Prix on July 6 and then a back-to-back at Hockenheim and the Hungaroring ahead of the summer break. Russia slots into a mid-October date, while the Mexican Grand Prix, which will take place at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez that last hosted an F1 race in 1992, is set to run back-to-back with the US Grand Prix in Austin. Brazil retains its position as the season finale.

Provisional 2014 calendar

March 16 - Australia, Melbourne
March 23 - Malaysia, Sepang
April 6 - China, Shanghai
April 13 - Korea, Mokpo*
April 27 - Bahrain, Sakhir
May 11 - Spain, Barcelona
May 25 - Monaco, Monaco
June 8 - Canada, Montreal
June 22 - Austria, Red Bull Ring
July 6 - Britain, Silverstone
July 20 - Germany, Hockenheim
July 27 - Hungary, Hungaroring
August 24 - Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps
September 7 - Italy, Monza
September 21 - Singapore, Marina Bay
October 5- Japan, Suzuka
October 19 - Russia, Sochi*
October 26 - Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina
November 9 - Mexico, Mexico City*
November 16 - USA, Circuit of the Americas
November 30 - Brazil, Interlagos
* (subject to confirmation)