FIA announces driver numbers

ESPN Staff
January 10, 2014 « Button opts for No.22 | Pujolar to be Vergne's race engineer »
© Getty Images

The FIA has announced which numbers 2014's drivers will use for the rest of their careers after each submitted requests over the winter.

The new rule has been agreed upon to help the sport commercialise the drivers, allocating a number they will stick with until they retire. All the drivers were asked to submit three numbers in order of preference and any clashes were decided by last year's drivers' championship standings.

World champion Sebastian Vettel has opted to use No.1 next year, which is traditionally reserved for the champion, but should he fail to retain the title he will revert to No.5 and the new champion will be allowed to use No.1.

Red Bull
1. Sebastian Vettel (will use No.5 when not reigning champion)
3. Daniel Ricciardo

44. Lewis Hamilton
6. Nico Rosberg

14. Fernando Alonso
7. Kimi Raikkonen

8. Romain Grosjean
13. Pastor Maldonado

22. Jenson Button
20. Kevin Magnussen

Force India
27. Nico Hulkenberg
11. Sergio Perez

99. Adrian Sutil
21. Esteban Gutierrez

Toro Rosso
25. Jean Eric Vergne
26. Daniel Kvyat

19. Felipe Massa
77. Valtteri Bottas

17. Jules Bianchi
TBC Max Chilton

Both drivers to be confirmed

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
ESPN Staff Close