• McLaren

Button opts for No.22

ESPN Staff
January 10, 2014 « Force India was first choice - Perez | FIA announces driver numbers »
Jenson Button won the title with No.22 in 2009 © Sutton Images

Jenson Button has confirmed he has picked 22 as his career number, while McLaren team-mate Kevin Magnussen has opted for 20.

This year drivers get to choose which number they will run for the rest of their F1 career after the FIA introduced a similar numbering system to the ones used in NASCAR and MotoGP. Button won the title running 22 on his Brawn car in 2009 and tweeted on Thursday that he had chosen the number going forward.

Magnussen, who will make his F1 debut with McLaren next year, announced on Twitter that he had opted for 20, the number he won the World Series by Renault with last year.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
ESPN Staff Close