• News

FIA lists six teams with vacancies

ESPNF1 Staff
December 1, 2010 « Robert Kubica guarded over 2011 team-mate | »
Several drivers are still awaiting news on their F1 futures © Sutton Images

Six teams are yet to confirm their full driver line-ups for the 2011 season after the FIA published its official entry list on Tuesday.

Ferrari, McLaren, Red Bull, Mercedes, Sauber and Lotus confirmed their line-ups leaving several interesting vacancies up for grabs.

One such vacancy is the second seat at Renault alongside Robert Kubica, although Vitaly Petrov is expected to be retained for a second season.

GP2 champion Pastor Maldonado is also expected to be confirmed at Williams but Force India failed to nominate a single driver, with Adrian Sutil, Tonio Liuzzi, Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg all reportedly in the running.

Toro Rosso's lineup is also officially unconfirmed despite having Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari contracted for a further season and fellow newcomers Virgin Racing and HRT also had no drivers listed for 2011.

Lotus, who have confirmed Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen, was interestingly listed as 'Team Lotus' despite the ongoing wrangles over the team name.

"We made the call after tremendous support from (the) public. Team Lotus it is," team boss Tony Fernandes wrote on Twitter. "Sure there will be many battles ahead but (team headquarters) Hingham is pumped."

Red Bull Racing
1. Sebastian Vettel
2. Mark Webber

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
3. Jenson Button
4. Lewis Hamilton

Scuderia Ferrari
5. Fernando Alonso
6. Felipe Massa

Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team
7. Michael Schumacher
8. Nico Rosberg

Renault F1 Team
9. Robert Kubica
10. TBC

AT&T Williams
11. Rubens Barrichello
12. TBC

Force India F1 Team
14. TBC
15. TBC

Sauber F1 Team
16. Kamui Kobayashi
17. Sergio Perez

Scuderia Toro Rosso
18. TBC
19. TBC

Team Lotus
20. Jarno Trulli
21. Heikki Kovalainen

HRT F1 Team
22. TBC
23. TBC

Virgin Racing
24. TBC
25. TBC