• News

Button favourite to take BBC award

ESPNF1 Staff
December 13, 2009 « Max Mosley breaks his silence | »
Will there be more for Jenson Button to celebrate tonight? © Sutton Images

Jenson Button is the bookies favourite to take the coveted BBC Sports Personality of the Year award tonight.

The world champion is one of ten sports men and women who will face the public vote during the live show which is broadcast from Sheffield. Fans will be able to vote for their favourite celebrity by phone and details will be given out during the show that starts at 7pm GMT on BBC One. The show will be hosted by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and F1 host Jake Humphrey.

Button is favourite to take the accolade ahead of footballer Ryan Giggs and boxer David Haye. If Button wins tonight he will join illustrious company which includes world champion Nigel Mansell who took the award on this day in 1992 he also won in 1986.

Commentator Murray Walker told viewers "Jenson is quite exceptional in what he has done this year, at Christmas 2008 he was nothing. He has scored points in all but one of the races this year, he is a lovely bloke and he would be a supremely worthy sports personality of the year."

The other contenders for the award tonight are 15-year-old diver Tom Daley, cyclist Mark Cavendish, heptathlete Jessica Ennis, triple jumper Phillips Idowu, tennis star Andy Murray, England cricket captain Andrew Strauss and gymnast Beth Tweddle.

Former motorsport winners of the award are John Surtees in 1959, Sir Stirling Moss in 1961, Sir Jackie Stewart in 1973 and Damon Hill in 1994 and 1996.