Live
Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka October 5-7, 2012

Total laps 53
Lap distance 5.807 km
Track Conditions Dry / 36C

ESPNF1 home   Race home

Weather
Sunny

Free practice 1  October 5 - 10:00 local | 01:00 GMT | 02:00 BST
Free practice 2  October 5 - 14:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 06:00 BST
Free practice 3  October 6 - 11:00 local | 02:00 GMT | 03:00 BST

Qualifying  October 6 - 14:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 06:00 BST
Race  October 7 - 15:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST

Race
  Pos Driver Team Laps Pits
1 Vettel FL GER Red Bull 53
2 Massa BRA Ferrari 53
3 Kobayashi JPN Sauber 53
4 Button GBR McLaren 53
5 Hamilton GBR McLaren 53
6 Räikkönen FIN Lotus 53
7 Hülkenberg GER Force India 53
8 Maldonado VEN Williams 53
9 Webber AUS Red Bull 53
10 Ricciardo AUS Toro Rosso 53
11 Schumacher GER Mercedes 53
12 di Resta GBR Force India 53
13 Vergne FRA Toro Rosso 53
14 Senna BRA Williams 53
15 Kovalainen FIN Caterham 52
16 Glock GER Manor Marussia 52
17 Petrov RUS Caterham 52
18 de la Rosa ESP HRT 52
19 Grosjean FRA Lotus 51
Retirement
engine Pic FRA Manor Marussia 37
withdrew Karthikeyan IND HRT 31
spun off Perez MEX Sauber 18
puncture Alonso ESP Ferrari 0
collision Rosberg GER Mercedes 0

Refreshes every 30 seconds | Send your feedback to the commentators

Thank you for joining us today. After the first corner it was all a bit one-sided but it was a fantastic result nonetheless to see Massa and Kobayashi on the podium. And now the championship resets for Alonso and Vettel with five races left and just four points separating them.

Lap 53

Vettel wins with ease, Massa crosses the line for his first podium since 2010 and Kobayahsi takes third! The crowd goes crazy in the grandstands seeing the first Japanese driver on the podium since 1990 when Aguri Suzuki made it on to the podium.

Great news for all three drivers on the podium. Vettel closes to four points of Alonso in the championship, Massa gives himself a shot in the arm as he attempts to stay at Ferrari and Kobayashi gives his chances of staying in F1 next year a massive boost with the first podium of his career.

Rob Smedley to Massa: "Smashed it. Great drive. That's where you should have been yesterday, great recovery."

Button told he put in a "superb drive".

They start the final lap and Button is still off the back of Kobayashi and unable to pass into turn one despite getting the DRS advantage.

Vettel is going to take this easily, but Button is all over the back of Kobayashi in the middle of the lap.

Lap 52

Kobayashi just about keeps Button out of the DRS zone by saving his KERS until the final corner. Button has to get within a second of the Sauber to use his DRS on the pit straight.

Vettel told again to "be careful" as he sets another fastest lap with a 1:35.774.

Lap 51

Three laps to go as Vettel starts lap 51. His position looks safe but Button has closed the gap to 1.2s to Kobayashi.

Button takes 0.3s out of the Sauber in sector one with a the fastest first sector of the race.

Lap 50

Schumacher tries a move again into turn one but Ricciardo is not leaving any space on the inside and the Mercedes cannot find a way past.

Vettel still leads by 19.4s. Massa has a 5.3s lead over Kobayashi and Button is 1.6s off the back of the Sauber.

Lap 49

Vettel told to back off a bit as he sets fastest lap after fastest lap and locks a tyre into the final chicane.

Full commentary: Race Qualifying Free practice 3 Free practice 2 Free practice 1