Live
United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, Austin October 21-23, 2016

Total laps 56
Lap distance 5.513 km
Track Conditions Dry

ESPNF1 home  

Weather
Scattered cloud

Free practice 1  October 21 - 10:00 local | 15:00 GMT | 16:00 BST
Free practice 2  October 21 - 14:00 local | 19:00 GMT | 20:00 BST
Free practice 3  October 22 - 10:00 local | 15:00 GMT | 16:00 BST

Qualifying  October 22 - 13:00 local | 18:00 GMT | 19:00 BST
Race  October 23 - 14:00 local | 19:00 GMT | 20:00 BST

Race
  Pos Driver Team Laps Pits
1 Hamilton GBR Mercedes 56 2
2 Rosberg GER Mercedes 56 2
3 Ricciardo AUS Red Bull 56 2
4 Vettel FL GER Ferrari 56 3
5 Alonso ESP McLaren 56 2
6 Sainz ESP Toro Rosso 56 2
7 Massa BRA Williams 55 3
8 Perez MEX Force India 55 2
9 Button GBR McLaren 55 2
10 Grosjean FRA Haas 55 2
11 Magnussen DEN Renault 55 3
12 Kvyat RUS Toro Rosso 55 1
13 Palmer GBR Renault 55 2
14 Ericsson SWE Sauber 55 1
15 Nasr BRA Sauber 55 1
16 Bottas FIN Williams 55 2
17 Wehrlein GER Manor 55 2
18 Ocon FRA Manor 54 3
Retirement
Räikkönen FIN Ferrari 38 3
Verstappen NED Red Bull 28 2
Gutiérrez MEX Haas 16 2
Hülkenberg GER Force India 1 1

Refreshes every 30 seconds | Send your feedback to the commentators

Lap 56

Alonso tries to undercut Sainz at Turn 1 but the Toro Rosso driver just clings on to position. Hamilton has just started the final lap of the race - that means these two have another lap to battle after this one!

Alonso tries a late move at Turn 11 but runs wide. Sainz doing everything he can but he powers past on the backstraight - Alonso locks up and runs wide but rejoins just ahead of Sainz for fifth! Great late drama as both men continue to lock up on the race track.

Fastest lap for Vettel - a 1:39.877. Well done Ferrari....

"Yeeeehaaa!!" shouts Alonso.

As he does, Lewis Hamilton wins the United States Grand Prix to claim his first victory since July.

Rosberg second, Ricciardo takes third, Vettel fourth. Alonso will take a well-earned fifth and the star of the day Sainz rounds off a drive to sixth. He deserved fifth there, didn't he.

"Perfect drive Lewis," Paddy Lowe says to Hamilton, congratulating the world champion.

Massa, Perez, Button and Grosjean round off the topten.

Lap 55

Hamilton is on the penultimate lap of the race.

Sainz and Alonso dicing through the middle sector. Sainz battling his boyhood hero for fifth.

Williams telling Massa he has a slow puncture and he pits!

Lap 54

Hamilton crosses to start lap 54, he's got three more to do.

Vettel pits, he's got almost half a lap on Sainz so it's effectively a free pitstop for the German.

Bottas and Nasr dicing for positing through Turn 12. Nasr keeps his Sauber in front.

McLaren tells Alonso to get after Sainz. He's just eight tenths of a second behind the Toro Rosso driver.

Vettel comes out on super-softs, so expect a fastest lap any minute now.

Lap 53

Cue "Felipe, Fernando is faster than you," jokes.

Replays showing a very opportunistic move from Alonso - he came from a long, long way back. The contact was wheel to wheel.

"Felipe closed the door! I was already alongside him," Alonso tells McLaren.

Stewards will investigate after the race, which is par for the course for any incidents this late in the race.

Lap 52

Sainz has 20-lap old soft tyres on. Both Massa and Alonso have medium tyres, so that fight is far from over in these final laps.

Verstappen's official twitter page saying he suffered a gearbox issue earlier.

Massa has a think about lunging down the inside of Sainz but thinks against it. Sainz is going to start struggling with those tyres in a big way.

Alonso barges past Massa at Turn 15! He lunged down the inside and forced the Williams wide with a bit of a nudge. Sainz the next man up for McLaren.

Lap 51

Rosberg takes 0.7s out of Hamilton's lead out in front. Hamilton getting ever closer to his first win since July, so I imagine there's plenty he's holding back out there.

Full commentary: Race Qualifying