• Presidents Cup

Woods and Kuchar team up for Presidents Cup

October 2, 2013
Jack Nicklaus: No hiding place for players

Tiger Woods will have a new partner in team competition at the Presidents Cup: Matt Kuchar.

Kuchar, who won the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in June, will become the 19th different player to pair with Woods in team competition at either the Ryder Cup or Presidents Cup.

They will take on the International team of Angel Cabrera and Marc Leishman in Thursday's four-ball (best ball) competition at Muirfield Village. The first day calls for six four-ball matches.

Woods has never played with Kuchar in team competition, having last year teamed with Steve Stricker in three matches at the Ryder Cup. At the last Presidents Cup two years ago in Australia, Woods played with Stricker and Dustin Johnson.

The other matches are as follows:

* Hunter Mahan and Brandt Snedeker v Jason Day and Graham DeLaet;

* Bill Haas and Webb Simpson v Adam Scott and Hideki Matsuyama;

* Phil Mickelson and Keegan Bradley v Louis Oosthuizen and Charl Schwartzel;

* Stricker and Jordan Spieth v Ernie Els and Brendon de Jonge;

* Kuchar and Woods v Cabrera and Leishman;

* Jason Dufner and Zach Johnson v Branden Grace and Richard Sterne.

Woods has a 20-14-1 record in seven previous Presidents Cup appearances while Kuchar went 1-3-1 two years ago in Australia. Kuchar was 2-1 at the Ryder Cup last year while Woods was 0-3-1.

US captain Fred Couples also brought back the Mickelson-Bradley tandem that went 3-0 last year at the Presidents Cup.

On Friday, the format changes to six foursomes (alternate shot) followed by two sessions on Saturday: five four-ball and five foursomes. There will be 12 singles matches on Sunday for a total of 34 points.

The US leads the overall competition 7-1-1 and has won the last four matches by at least three points.

Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

This article first appeared on ESPN.com

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd