• The Masters

McIlroy paired with two debutants

Bob Harig
April 8, 2014
Matthew Fitzpatrick (left) has been paired with the defending champion while Rory McIlroy (right) partners two debutants © Getty Images

Adam Scott will begin defence of his Masters title on Thursday morning at 10.41 am (3.41 pm UK) along with PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner and English amateur Matthew Fitzpatrick.

The 78th Masters will begin with honorary starters Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player teeing off at 7.40 am (12.40 pm UK) and concluding with the group of Harris English, Lee Westwood and Russell Henley at 1.59 pm (6.59 pm UK).

The field has 97 players, including 24 first-timers. Among other notable groups: Rory McIlroy plus debutants Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed at 10.52 am (3.52 pm UK); Jason Day, Dustin Johnson and Henrik Stenson at 1.04 pm (6.04 pm UK); Bubba Watson, Luke Donald and Sergio Garcia at 1.15 pm (6.15pm UK).

Reigning US Open champion Justin Rose, Open championship winner Phil Mickelson and Ernie Els begin play at 1.48 pm (6.48pm).

Competitors will play in the same groups on Friday with their tee times altered.

The field size will be cut to the top 50 and ties and anyone within 10 strokes of the lead through 36 holes.

This article originally appeared on ESPN.com

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close