• FIA Gala Prize Giving Ceremony

Vettel officially crowned Formula One champion

ESPNF1 Staff
December 11, 2010 « Horner hails 'halcyon' period in F1 | »

Sebastian Vettel was officially crowned the 2010 Formula One world champion on Friday evening, after he was presented with the drivers' trophy by FIA president Jean Todt.

Attending the glamorous FIA Gala Prize Giving Ceremony in Monaco, Vettel joined Red Bull team principal Christian Horner on stage to collect the drivers' and constructors' championships.

The evening officially confirmed Vettel's place in the F1 history books as the youngest ever champion, following a remarkable season. The 23-year-old did not top the standings until the final weekend, when he claimed the title in Abu Dhabi.

"This is an amazing evening for me and for the Red Bull Racing team," said Vettel. "I'm thrilled to be here to collect the drivers' championship trophy, something I have dreamt of since I started racing.

"Winning the championship is unbelievable; it marks an incredible season for us, with many ups and downs. We kept believing in our team, in our car and enjoyed every race.

"I would really like to thank all the Red Bull Racing team and Renault Engines for their efforts and dedication in ensuring we had such an amazing car this year. I am extremely proud of the success we have achieved together."

Elsewhere, Sebastien Loeb picked up the World Rally champion's trophy, while Michael Bartels and Andrea Bertolini took the inaugural GT1 world title.