• UFC 136

Sonnen gives Silva chilling reminder in Stann victory

ESPN staff
October 9, 2011

Chael Sonnen manhandled one of the middleweight division's strongest men at UFC 136, earning a second-round submission victory over Brian Stann that will surely propel him to a title rematch with Anderson Silva.

Competing in his first fight for over a year, following a suspension from the sport, Sonnen looked better than ever as he never allowed Stann a second to breathe in Houston. Smothering Stann with his wrestling, Sonnen secured an arm triangle choke with little over a minute remaining in round two to confirm his status as the division's No. 1 contender.

Stann was undefeated at 185lbs since losing to Phil Davis in the light-heavyweight division, and he was said to boast the striking power and strength to trouble Sonnen. The truth was vastly different as his ground game became exposed by Sonnen's exceptional wrestling offence.

The pair clinched early and, after a brief struggle against the cage, Sonnen got his man to the ground, where he wore him out for the rest of the stanza. It was a mirror image of Sonnen's work against Silva back at UFC 117, with the question being could Sonnen this time find a finish?

An immediate shot in round two saw the Team Quest man immediately establish control once again, and this time he improved position. Transitioning beautifully, Sonnen ended up locking on an arm triangle from side control, manoeuvring his body expertly to secure the tap.

Elsewhere on Saturday, Demian Maia won a unanimous 30-27 decision against Jorge Santiago, Nam Phan outpointed Leonard Garcia, while Anthony Pettis took a split decision against Jeremy Stephens.

UFC 136 results:
Frankie Edgar bt Gray Maynard via TKO - Round 4, 3:54
Jose Aldo bt Kenny Florian via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46)
Chael Sonnen bt Brian Stann via submission (arm-triangle choke) - Round 2, 3:51
Joe Lauzon bt Melvin Guillard via submission (rear-naked choke) - Round 1, 0:47
Nam Phan bt Leonard Garcia via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Demian Maia bt Jorge Santiago via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Anthony Pettis bt Jeremy Stephens via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Stipe Miocic bt Joey Beltran via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)
Darren Elkins bt Tiequan Zhang via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-27)
Aaron Simpson bt Eric Schafer via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Mike Massenzio bt Steve Cantwell via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.