- Ryder Cup
Olazabal won't skipper Europe again
Victorious Ryder Cup captain Jose Maria Olazabal has confirmed he will not reprise the role at Gleneagles in 2014.
Olazabal was at the helm as Europe produced an incredible final-day comeback in the singles to retain the Ryder Cup. At the start of Sunday's play, America needed just four-and-a-half points from 12 ties to triumph.
There has been plenty of speculation as to who will skipper Europe in two years' time, with Darren Clarke heavily linked to the role - and Olazabal will not be standing in his way.
"In a way I would like to do it again but I can assure you it's going to be a no - period," Olazabal said. "Nowadays it is a lot of work and it takes a lot from you during the stretch of time between being named captain and the tournament starting.
"On top of that there are a lot of players who should have the opportunity to be in my spot. The Ryder Cup is played once every two years and there are a big number of players who have the chance to be in my position."
Meanwhile, Olazabal has revealed he stressed to Francesco Molinari the importance of taking a half against Tiger Woods in the anchor match of the singles. Had Molinari not been successful, the overall score would have finished as a 14-14 tie.
"I said to Francesco, 'You have to half this match'," Olazabal said. "There's a huge difference between tying and winning the cup. I know some people might think Francesco should have given Tiger that short putt, but at the end of the day the rules are the rules. It was important to finish the match."