• Switch Edition
ESPN SCRUM / News in Brief / News
Rugby World Cup Sevens
England name squad for Moscow test
ESPN Staff
June 21, 2013

England Sevens head coach Ben Ryan has named his 12-man squad for next week's Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow (June 28-30).

Captain Rob Vickerman and James Rodwell are the only survivors of the last World Cup squad in Dubai in 2009 while there is also a place for Dan Norton who scored 52 tries in the HSBC World Series this year and topped the World Series points ranking table. Also nominated for the RPA Sevens Player of the Year award was Marcus Watson and Tom Powell and they both make the squad alongside Mat Turner and Tom Mitchell who have recently returned from injury.

Ryan said: "It's been a difficult decision to whittle this squad down to just 12 - we have left some key players at home - but this is a squad I am really excited about. I am delighted to name Rob as captain. He is a fantastic captain who always leads by example. He is an excellent Sevens player who is hitting a rich vein of form right now. All the squad really respect him both as a player and a captain and it's fantastic to have someone of his calibre coming into a Rugby World Cup.

"We're heading to Moscow with some good momentum behind us after two third place finishes in Glasgow and London and then winning the first leg of the European Grand Prix in Lyon. That has given us some added confidence, coupled with some great preparation. The squad is looking sharp, very fit and ready for the challenge ahead."

England have been drawn against Portugal, Hong Kong and Argentina in the pool stages.

England: Tom Powell, James Rodwell, Mike Ellery, Rob Vickerman, Jeffrey Williams, John Brake, Mat Turner, Tom Mitchell, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Marcus Watson, Dan Norton, Mark Odejobi

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.